Archive for August, 2007

August 12th Catch of the Day – Blaqk Audio

Sunday, August 12th, 2007

Blaqk Audio is the side project made up of members from alternative goth kids, AFI. The main difference from the two bands is the amount of electronic dance grooves that are more present in Blaqk Audio’s album. Their music reminds me of the times I went to the 18 and under clubs back in ‘88 and ‘89. It seems like they never received the memo about new wave music, or they just don’t care. Either way, I really like this song. Today’s catch is “The Fear of Being Found”.

Larissa Ness on Chillville

Sunday, August 12th, 2007

Local artist Larissa Ness joined us this morning on the show. Listen to the clips below to hear the interview and a song that she played for us live.

Clip 1

Clip 2

I Thought I Knew You

Clip 4

Bad Hair Day For The Cure

Sunday, August 12th, 2007

As I mentioned on the show this morning, Robert Smith is pushing back the release of the new Cure record until next year. This will not affect the tour that kicked off today in Australia and comes through Texas Oct 16 and 17.

Chillville August 12, 2007

Sunday, August 12th, 2007

Rise and Shine! Thank to Larissa Ness for coming in this morning. Check out the A/V Vault to hear clips of the interview and a song that she played for us live.

  • Beck – New Round
  • Unkle – Hold My Hand
  • The Cure – To The Sky
  • Remy Zero – Hermes Bird
  • Sneaker Pimps – 6 Underground
  • Jem – Amazing Life
  • Fujiya & Miyagi – In One Ear and Out The Other
  • Husky Rescue – New Light of Tomorrow (acoustic)
  • (9:30) Royksopp – Remind Me
  • Gary Jules – Mad World
  • Cibbo Matto – Sunday Part I
  • Postal Service – Sleeping In
  • Nouvelle Vague – Heart of Glass
  • The Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Part I
  • (10:00) Nellie McKay – David
  • The Sea and Cake – Two Dolphins
  • A Perfect Circle – Blue (James Iha Remix)
  • Modest Mouse – Little Motel
  • Danger Doom – Benzi Box (ft Cee Lo)
  • (10:30) Larissa Ness – I Wonder Why
  • Gorillaz – Tomorrow Comes Today
  • Soul Coughing – Circles (Extended Dub Remix)
  • Larrissa Ness – I Thought I Knew You (live)
  • Radiohead – Idioteque
  • Bebel Gilberto – Aganju
  • (11:00) Coldplay – The Scientist
  • Terranova – Chase The Blues
  • The Shins – Caring Is Creepy
  • Bjork – Innocence
  • (11:30) Blaqk Audio – The Fear of Being Found (Catch of the Day)
  • Brazilian Girls – Lazy Lover
  • Bitter:Sweet – The Mating Game (Remix)
  • Death Cab For Cutie – Summer Skin
  • Ivy – Diggin Your Scene


Casey McPherson at the Chillville Corona X-Cursion Remote

Monday, August 6th, 2007

August 5th Catch of the Day – Justice

Sunday, August 5th, 2007

Justice, the French electronic band, has also been catagorized as a “Christian” group, which is very uncommon in the electro/dance genre. The ironic thing about my catch, D.A.N.C.E., is that the song is about Michael Jackson. I am not too familiar with Christian music, but I doubt there are too many of these bands that sing about MJ. Anyway, I really dig this song and the many refernces to Michael himself including PYT, ABC, and Black or White.


Chillville August 5, 2007

Sunday, August 5th, 2007

Come out and have lunch with us today at Sherlock’s (183 and Burnet).  We’ll be there noon to two, and it’s you’re last chance to get registered for the Chillville X-cursion to V-Fest in Toronto.  Casey McPherson from Alpha Rev is going to be playing as well.

  • The Knife – Marble House
  • Air – Redhead Girl
  • DNTL – The Distance
  • Bitter:Sweet – Bittersweet Faith (Remix)
  • The Flaming Lips – Waiting For A Superman
  • (9:30) Satellite Party – Awesome
  • Marissa Nadler – No Surprises
  • Ghostland Observatory – Midnight Voyage
  • Travis – Big Chair
  • Grandaddy – Where I’m Anymore
  • Hot Chip – Colours
  • (10:00) Morphine – Cure For Pain
  • Jose Gonzales – Love Will Tear Us Apart
  • Garbage – The World Is Not Enough (Unkle Remix)
  • Modest Mouse – Fire It Up
  • The Postal Service – Such Great Heights
  • The Ocean Blue – Ballerina Out Of Control
  • Tahiti 80 – Yellow Butterfly
  • (10:30) OHN – Big Lie
  • Coldplay – Warning Sign
  • St. Etienne – On The Shore
  • Beck – Heaven Hammer (Air Remix)
  • (11:00) Interpol – The Lighthouse
  • Thievery Corporation – Satyam Shivam Sundaram
  • Radiohead – Knives Out
  • Poe – Hello
  • Larissa Ness – I See Better With My Eyes Closed
  • Soul Coughing – Soft Serve
  • Aqueduct – Hardcore Days and Softcore Nights
  • Justice – D.A.N.C.E (Catch of the Day)
  • Primative Radio Gods – Standing Outside a Broken Phonebooth…