Archive for February, 2008

Air’s Moon Safari Gets 10th Anniversary Re-Issue

Tuesday, February 26th, 2008


On March 31st, Air will be releasing a 10th Anniversary Edition of their hugely successful Moon Safari. The new version will include the original disk, a second disk of remixes and B-Sides, a DVD, and a hard book cover. Check out the track listing below.

Disk 1:

  1. La Femme d’Argent
  2. Sexy Boy
  3. All I Need
  4. Kelly Watch the Stars
  5. Talisman
  6. Remember
  7. You Make It Easy
  8. Ce Matin La
  9. New Star in the Sky
  10. Le Voyage de Penelope

Disk 2:

  1. Remember (David Whitaker Version)
  2. Kelly Watch the Stars (Live on the BBC 1998)
  3. J’ai Dormi Sous L’Eau (Live on the BBC 1998)
  4. Sexy Boy (Live on the BBC 1998)
  5. Kelly Watch the Stars (Moog Cookboook Remix)
  6. Mabrouk (Live on KCRW 1998)
  7. You Make It Easy (Live on KCRW 1998)
  8. Bossa 96 (Demo)
  9. Kelly Watch the Stars (Demo)
  10. Sexy Boy (Beck Sex Kino Mix)

February 24th Catch of the Day – She and Him

Sunday, February 24th, 2008

Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward are the talented due that make up the indie band She and Him. The story behind the collaboration is that they first met while recording a song for a movie soundtrack. Deschanel came out and admitted to him that she writes her own songs and records at home when she is not working on a film. The beautiful actress eventually sent some of her demos over to Matt who was blown away by her voice and passion for music. They then started recording songs for their album entitled Volume One. I am pretty reluctant to get behind actors who want to sing; however, I think Zooey just might have what it takes. Today’s catch is “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?” Enjoy!

- Monty


Chillville February 24, 2008

Sunday, February 24th, 2008

Has it been one week already?

This morning we have some new music from Tricky, Z-Trip, and Federico Aubele. Stay tuned for givvies to Ghostland Observatory, Justice, and U23D.

  • DJ Shadow – Six Days
  • Federico Aubele – Su Melodia
  • Interpol – NYC
  • Sneaker Pimps – 6 Underground (The Umbrellas of Ladywell Mix)
  • Guster – Satellite
  • (9:30) Supreme Beings of Leisure – Swallow
  • Tricky – Dear God
  • Depeche Mode – Precious
  • Faithless – Postcards
  • Grandaddy – Where I’m Anymore
  • (10:00) Radiohead – Weird Fishes/Arpeggio
  • Ingrid Michaelson – The Way I Am
  • Stateless – Bloodstream
  • Z-Trip – Fade Into You
  • Kraftwerk – The Telephone Call
  • (10:30) Flunk – Haldi
  • Elvis Costello – Watching the Detectives
  • Portishead – Roads
  • Zykos – Race Rabbit
  • The Flaming Lips – Do You Realize (Postal Service Remix)
  • Belaire – Waiting Patiently
  • (11:00) Air – Playground Love
  • Jack Johnson – Sleep Through the Static
  • Thievery Corporation – Revolution Solution (ft. Perry Ferrell)
  • Ghostland Observatory – The Band Marches On
  • Calvin Harris – Neon Rocks
  • Kimya Dawson – So Nice, So Smart
  • (11:30) Kasabian – U Boat
  • Justice – D.A.N.C.E.
  • She and Him – Why Do You Let Me Stay Here? (Catch of the Day)
  • Bebel Gilberto – Aganju
  • The Cure – Fascination Street
  • Regina Spektor – Fidelity

Cat Power Hits the Road

Thursday, February 21st, 2008


Fresh off her latest release Jukebox, Cat Power will be embarking on a world tour that begins on February 29 in LA. The good news is that she has schedule a show at here in Austin at Stubb’s on April 20. Stay tuned to Chillville for ticket giveaways to this show.

- Monty

Narrow Stairs by Death Cab for Cutie

Thursday, February 21st, 2008

On May 13th, Atlantic records will be releasing the newest album by Death Cab entitled Narrow Stairs. Chillville has the exclusive on the track listing for the latest LP, which has already gone through several changes. This said, all track titles are subject to change.

  1. Bixby Canyon Bridge
  2. I Will Possess Your Heart
  3. No Sunlight
  4. Cath…
  5. Talking Bird
  6. You Can Do Better Than Me
  7. Grapevine Fires
  8. Your New Twin Size Bed
  9. Long Division
  10. Pity and Fear
  11. The Ice is Getting Thinner

- Monty

February 17th Catch of the Day – Supreme Beings of Leisure

Sunday, February 17th, 2008


You know when SBL released their first album Supreme Beings of Leisure back in 2000, I was completely hooked. It definitely goes down as one of the top debut albums by a band or artist in my book. Geri Soriano-Lightwood has this gorgeous, soulful voice that works perfectly on top of their trip-hop, laid back sound. Well I am excited to say that SBL has released their third album under Rykodisk Records entitled, 11i. I have listened to the entire record, and it is just as good if not better than their first. If you are a fan of Chillville music, then this says a lot. To get more info on the LA based band, then click here. Today’s catch is “The Light”. Enjoy!

- Monty

Chillville February 17, 2008

Sunday, February 17th, 2008

What a beautiful morning for some Chillville. Today we will be bringing you new music from Unkle, Burial, and Grizzly Bear.

  • 1 Giant Leap – My Culture
  • Dirty Vegas – Days Go By
  • Electronic – Get the Message
  • Moby – Extreme Ways
  • Grizzly Bear – Owner of a Lonely Heart
  • The Chromatics – Running Up That Hill
  • (9:30) Hot Chip – Sexual Healing
  • Unkle – When Things Explode (ft. Ian Astbury)
  • The Crystal Method – Bad Stone
  • Death Cab for Cutie – What Sara Said
  • (10:00) Dave Gahan – Endless
  • Delerium – Innocente (ft. Leigh Nash)
  • Zero 7 – Sommersault
  • MC 900 ft. Jesus – While the City Sleeps
  • (10:30) Burial – Archangel
  • G. Love and Special Sauce – Rodeo Clowns
  • Imogen Heap – Spooky
  • Bjork – All is Full of Love
  • Portishead – Sour Times
  • The Postal Service – Such Great Heights
  • Meiko – Piano Song
  • (11:00) Bjork – All is Full of Love
  • LCD Soundsystem – Someone Great
  • Gorillaz – Clint Eastwood
  • Jeff Buckley – Last Goodbye
  • (11:30) Voxtrot – Steven
  • Kinky – Obsession
  • White Town – Your Woman (The Ben Gross Mix)
  • Supreme Beings of Leisure – The Light (Catch of the Day)
  • Soul Coughing – Circles (Extended Dub)