Archive for May, 2009

(5/17/09) Monty’s Catch of the Day – Bassnectar

Sunday, May 17th, 2009

Lorin Ashton, aka Bassnectar, is putting the finishing touches on his latest LP entitled The Other Side. The San Francisco DJ is best known for his wild and psychedelic shows that really puts a different spin on the tracks your use to hearing on the CD. Bassnectar’s long, black hair is thrown all around as if you were at a Metallica concert; however, his groove is not to distorted guitars, but rather hard beats and a plethora of samples. So when he comes down to Austin again in October for the ACL Fest, then I would strongly advise that you leave his timeslot open. You will not regret it. Today’s catch, “Art of Revolution”, is the first single off the new album, which should be out before his Austin appearance. Check out a clip of the song below. Enjoy.

Bassnectar – “Art of Revolution”

Chillville May 17, 2009

Sunday, May 17th, 2009

  • Brazilian Girls – Lazy Lover
  • Of Montreal – Wraith Pind to the Mist
  • Natalie Walker – Quicksand (Thievery Corporation)
  • Travis – Why Does it Always Rain on Me
  • The Kills – Black Balloon
  • West Indian Girl – Trip
  • Moby – Hyenas
  • (9:30) Primal Scream – Higher than the Sun
  • Soul Coughing – 4 out of 5
  • The Pharcyde – Passin’ Me By (Dave Wrangler Remix ft. Ghostland Observatory)
  • Elliott Smith – Between the Bars (Long Orchestra Mix)
  • Panda Bear – Comfy in Nautica
  • The Avalanches – Since I Left You
  • (10:00) Obadiah Parker – Hey Ya
  • Santigold – L.E.S. Artistes (XXXchange Remix)*
  • The Submarines – Peace & Hate (Nobody Remix)
  • Exile – Stay Tuned (Stay Here)
  • Clem Snide – Grievence
  • Gorillaz – Clint Eastwood
  • (10:30) Wax Tailor – Ungodly Fruit
  • Team Sleep – Ever (Foreign Flag)
  • Sneaker Pimps – Walking Zero
  • Bassnectar - Art of Revolution (Ghislain Poirier Remix): Monty’s Catch of the Day*
  • Beck – Lost Cause
  • The White Stripes – We Are Going to Be Friends
  • (11:00) Boards of Canada – Julie and Candy
  • Air – Playground Love
  • Beck – Que’ Onda Guero (Nortec Collective Remix)
  • Patrick Park – Nothing’s Lost
  • The Crystal Method – Divided by Night*
  • (11:30) Corrine Bailey Rae – Like a Star
  • Portishead – Hunter
  • This Mortal Coil – Song of the Siren
  • Paul Oakenfold – Starry Eyed Surprise
  • Passion Pit – The Reeling*

* playing live! Check out the Chillville MySpace Concert Calendar.

(5/10/09) Monty’s Catch of the Day – LCD Soundsystem

Sunday, May 10th, 2009

So LCD Soundsystem has given us a little teaser before the release of their 3rd studio album due later this year. Causes 2 is the name of the Waxploitation compilation CD that a handful of musicians (including Gnarls Barkley, Diplo, Mum, Federico Aubele, and My Morning Jacket), which is benefiting the conflict in Dafur. James Murphy, front man for LCD Soundsystem, has grown his empire of DFA Records to one of the finest labels right now (LCD, The Juan MacLean, Hercules and Love Affair), and it’s nice to see him doing an exclusive track for this cause. Today’s catch is called “Starry Eyes Original”, and you can listen to a short clip of it below. Enjoy!

LCD Soundsystem – “Starry Eyes Original”

Chillville May 10, 2009

Sunday, May 10th, 2009
  • Circlesquare – Hey You Guys (The Juan MacLean Remix)
  • The Chromatics – I’m On Fire
  • Little Boots – New in Town (Emil & Friends Remix)
  • Primitive Radio Gods – Standing Outside a Broken Phone Booth…
  • Moby – Extreme Ways
  • Animal Collective – My Girls*
  • (10:30) Faithless – Bombs
  • The Clash – Bankrobber
  • People Under the School – Schooled in the Trade
  • Friendly Fires – Skeleton Boy (Air France Remix)
  • TV on the Radio – Staring at the Sun*
  • (10:00) the bird and the bee – How Deep is Your Love
  • Death Cab for Cutie – Grapevine Fires
  • Lily Allen – The Fear*
  • The Black Ghosts – Full Moon
  • Bjork – Joga
  • Massive Attack – Unfinished Sympathy
  • William Orbit – Optical Illusion
  • (10:30) Royksopp – Miss it so Much (ft. Lykke Li)
  • LCD Soundsystem – Starry Eyes Original (Monty’s Catch of the Day)
  • Fujiya & Miyagi – Ankle Injuries
  • Au Revoir Simone – Lark (Ruff and Jam Mix)*
  • Coldplay – X & Y*
  • (11:00) Mazzy Star – Fade Into You
  • The Crystal Method – Falling Hard (ft. Meiko)*
  • L.A.X. – R & B*
  • Nine Inch Nails – The Great Destroyer (Modwheelmood Remix)*
  • Pet Shop Boys – Love, Etc.
  • (11:30) Supreme Beings of Leisure – You’re Always the Sun
  • Sia – Breathe Me
  • James Yuill – No Surprise
  • Terranova – Chase the Blues (Cameron McVey Mix)
  • Radiohead – Knives Out
  • Underworld – Ballet Lane

* playing live! Check out the Chillville MySpace Concert Calendar.

(5/3/09) Monty’s Catch of the Day – The Crystal Method

Sunday, May 3rd, 2009

So the Las Vegas gods of electronic music are back at again with another full length album that is set to drop on May 12. Divided by Night will be the fourth full length LP, and the best part is that the majority of the tracks will include collaborations with some of the hottest up and coming artists, and some outstanding veterans as well. Guest performers will include Meiko, Jason Lytle (of Grandaddy), Peter Hook (of New Order), and the great Matisyahu who happens to lend his vocal talents on today’s catch. “Drown in the Now” is the first single to come out, which features chunky electro beats mixed with Matisyahu’s reggae-style singing. The Crystal Method will also be hitting Austin on May 19th at La Zona Rosa, so be sure not to miss them. Check out the fantastic video for “Drown in the Now” down below. Enjoy!

Monty and The Crystal Method (Ken Jordan and Scott Kirkland)

The Crystal Method – “Drown in the Now (ft. Matisyahu)”

Chillville May 3, 2009

Sunday, May 3rd, 2009

Good morning! Got a great one for you today including Coldplay, L.A.X., Little Boots, and new Depeche Mode. We will also be giving away $25 gift cards for VOD, 311 tickets, and The Crystal Method tickets.

* playing live! Check out the Chillville MySpace Concert Calendar.

  • Elliot Smith – Angeles
  • Neiliyo – Playing Dumb
  • Tricky – Overcome
  • Colodplay – Lhuna (ft. Kylie Minogue)*
  • The Orb – Blue Room (Ambient Mix)
  • Interpol – NYC
  • (9:30) Die Warzau – All Good Girls (Quake Mix)
  • Radiohead – Let Down
  • Kruder & Dorfmeister – High Noon
  • Joy Division – Atmosphere
  • Yadira Brown – Dreams of Home*
  • (10:00) The Chemical Brothers – Chico’s Groove
  • Gorillaz – Hong Kong
  • The Egg – Venice Beach
  • Depeche Mode – In Chains*
  • (10:30) The Juan MacLean – Accusations*
  • Air – Sex Born Poison
  • Gabriella Cilmi – Sweet About Me
  • N.E.R.D. – Provider (Zero 7 Remix)
  • Bat for Lashes – Use Somebody
  • Massive Attack – I Against I (ft. Mos Def)
  • (11:00) Delerium – Silence (ft. Sarah McLachlan)
  • Little Boots – Stuck on Repeat
  • Blue States – Your Girl
  • L.A.X. – Dire Fire*
  • (11:30) TV on the Radio – Stork & Owl (Gang Gang Dance Remix)*
  • The Crystal Method ft. Matiyahu - Drown in the Now (Monty’s Catch of the Day)*
  • Thievery Corporation – Sweet Tides*
  • Bitter:Sweet – Drink you Sober
  • Bjork – Nattura (Switch Remix)
  • Santigold – Shove It (Switch Remix)*