Archive for February, 2007

Chillville February 18 2007

Sunday, February 18th, 2007

We’re blowing out Shins tix and my buddy Wicho from Guatemala is in as well.

  • Flunk – Play
  • Spoon – Chicago At Night
  • Lamb – Wonder
  • Matt Costa – Sunshine
  • Radiohead – Karma Police
  • Beck – Broken Drum (Boards of Canada Mix)
  • Rilo Kiley – Rip Cord
  • Amy Winehouse – Rehab (Hot Chip Mix)
  • Scissor Sisters – It Can’t Come Quickly Enough
  • Ben Folds – Underground
  • (10:00 AM) Air – Once Upon A Time
  • Windsor For The Derby – Melody of a Fallen Tree
  • Morphine – Cure For The Pain
  • William Orbit – Water For a Vine Leaf
  • The Flaming Lips – Do You Realize
  • Tegan & Sara – I Know I Know I Know
  • Zero 7 – Destiny
  • The Cure – A Letter To Elise
  • Wicho – Poor Sad Girl
  • West Indian Girl – Trip
  • (11:00) Massive Attack – Mezzanine
  • The Shins – Red Rabbits
  • Husky Rescue – Diamonds In the Sky
  • Gorillaz – Tomorrow Comes Today
  • Frou Frou – Let Go
  • Bjork – All Is Full Of Love
  • Control Machete – Si Senor
  • Hot Chip – No Fit State (Full Monty’s Catch of the Day)
  • Team Sleep – Ever

Hot Chip Announces Small U.S. Tour

Friday, February 16th, 2007

Indie electro/rock band Hot Chip will be kicking off a short tour, which kicks off on 04/20 in New York. The good news is that they will be coming to Austin on 04/25 at Antone’s. Along with the 8 city tour, Hot Chip will be busy playing Coachella and Bonnaroo Music Festivals. Listen for Full Monty’s Catch of the Day in the near future with some chill tracks from the band.

Wilco’s Sky Blue Sky

Tuesday, February 13th, 2007

On May 15th, Wilco will be releasing their latest album, Sky Blue Sky. Here are the tracks below.

  1. Either Way
  2. You Are My Face
  3. Impossible Germany
  4. Sky Blue Sky
  5. Side With the Seeds
  6. Shake It Off
  7. Please Be Patient With Me
  8. Hate It Here
  9. Leave Me (Like You Found Me)
  10. Walken
  11. What Light
  12. On and On and On

The band members have been pretty busy in their own right with Jeff Tweedy just finishing off a solo tour, John Stirrat and Pat Sansone’s Autumn Defense currently on tour, and the whole Wilco band playing the Bonnaroo Music Festival.

Elliot Smith’s New Moon

Monday, February 12th, 2007

New Moon is the collection of songs recorded between 1994-1997 by the late Elliot Smith. The album, which is due out in May, will include B-Sides and rare recordings that have never been released. A portion of the proceeds will go to Outside In, a social service agency helping homeless youth.

New Moon Tracklist:
Disc One:

  1. Angel In the Snow
  2. Talking To Mary
  3. High Times
  4. New Monkey
  5. Looking Over My Shoulder
  6. Going Nowhere
  7. Riot Coming
  8. All Cleaned Out
  9. First Timer
  10. Go By
  11. Miss Misery (Early Version)
  12. Thirteen

Disc 2:

  1. Georgia Georgia
  2. Whatever (Folk Songs In C)
  3. Big Decision
  4. Placerholder
  5. New Disaster
  6. Seen How Things Are Hard
  7. Fear City
  8. Either/Or
  9. Pretty Mary K (Other Version)
  10. Almost Over
  11. See You Later
  12. Half Right

Chillville February 11, 2007

Sunday, February 11th, 2007

Full Monty called in sick with the stomach flu this morning and I gotta admit I’m missing the little fella.  Actually, he was willing to step to, but I told him to stay home (which is equal parts “genuine concern for Monty’s welfare” and “selfish desire to ward off the flu”)

Chillville is again brought to you by dentist Shane Matt at Authentic Smiles

Blowing out tickets to Of Montreal today as well…

  • Cold War Kids – Hang Me Up To Dry
  • Peter Gabriel/Massive Attack – Games Without Frontiers
  • Iron & Wine – Such great Heights
  • Johnette Napolitano – The Scientist (f. Danny Lohner)
  • Jem – Amazing Life
  • Placebo – Meds
  • GusGus – Moss
  • Imogen heap – Clear The Area
  • Smasing Pumpkins – Daydream
  • Cibo Matto – Sunday Part 1
  • White Stripes – I Can Tell That We Are Gonna Be Friends
  • Mojave 3 – Love Songs On The Radio
  • (10:00) Spoon – The Delicate Place
  • Air – Once Upon A Time
  • Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees
  • Bloc Party – Compliments
  • Nouvelle Vague – Let Me Go
  • Rilo Kiley – With Arms Outstretched
  • Flaming Lips – Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots, Pt. 1
  • Morcheeba - Tape Loop (Diabolical remix)
  • Psapp – Cozy In The Rocket
  • Bebel Gilberto – Aganju
  • Postal Service – Sleeping In
  • (11:00) Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Turn Into
  • Incubus – Aqueous Transmissions
  • Cure – Lullaby
  • Lomita – Ink On A Page
  • Moby – Natural Blues
  • Thievery Corporation – Satyam Shivam Sundaram (Govinda mix)
  • Promise Ring – Things Just Getting Good
  • Zero 7 – In The Waiting Line
  • Rewake – I’m Sorry
  • Regina Spektor – Fidelity

The Reminder by Feist

Wednesday, February 7th, 2007

On May 1, 2007, Feist will release the latest album entitled The Reminder. This is the follow up to Open Season, which is a compilation of remixes that was released in 2005. The Reminder will feature original tracks, which we haven’t heard since 2004’s Let it Die. Feist, who is fronted by mastermind Leslie Feist, will be on tour overseas to promote the new album. Be sure to check out the “Mushaboom” remixes that we play from time to time on Chillville .

February 4th Catch of the Day – Sleepthief

Wednesday, February 7th, 2007

Sleepthief is duo out of Southern California that was formed in 2003. On their first album, Dawnseeker, they recruited female vocalists for every song on the 2006 album. Guests on the album include Jody Quine, and Kristy Thirsk who has had a ton of success with her current ban Delerium. My choice this week is “The Chauffeur” featuring the beautiful sounds of Kirsty Hackshaw. This song may sound familiar to you Duran Duran fans since it is a cover off the 1981 album, Rio.